Redneckified

Before I get into what I want to talk to you all about today, I just wanted to make sure I gave a little shout-out to those who sent some kind words my way after the last post I wrote.

I didn’t do it for attention, but it was nice to see not only the WordPress community reach out to me, but those long lost friends shoot me a message to make sure I was alright. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart for all you’ve done for me. I don’t feel like I deserve your kindness. You’re all the best!

And now for something completely different: Rednecks.

If you’re not familiar with what a redneck is, you’ll have to go find one and observe them, then find another and revise what you had previously observed, rinse, lather, and repeat. If you’re from outside of the United States, take what you stereotype Americans as, and there you have it. No two rednecks are really the same. The majority can be found living in trailer parks, drinking beer by a campfire, or out hunting in the woods, but it’s really the personality behind these actions what separates a redneck from the rest of the white-collar world.

My husband has told me from pretty much the day we started dating that he was a redneck. I worried for a while that I would become converted and soon be barefoot and pregnant washing dishes in a pop-up camper with curlers in my hair.

You see, I grew up in New York; Long Island to be more specific. As a child I only ever heard of rednecks on the TV. They were a scary group of people from the South that burped, farted, and drank their way to being crusty old people withering away in front of The Beverly Hillbillies. Harsh right?

Well, once I moved to Pennsylvania, I realized that I was quite ill informed. Rednecks, as a group aren’t just cranky old people. They’re a people that haven’t let go of what it means to be a decent human being. They care about each other in this pure way that puts words to shame. It’s a strange phenomenon to hang out with rednecks. They’ll be catching frogs in the middle of the night one second, then the next inviting total strangers over to their house for dinner. They’re just awesome people.

Now don’t get me wrong, there are derivatives to my explanation. There are some rednecks who prefer to get drunk and yell at people, or those who are really traditional and live by the Rule of Thumb. But for the most part, the rednecks I come into contact with in one way or another are the decent kind. They’d give the shirt off of their back for someone in need, hold the door for a woman no matter her age, weight, or skin color, and come get you when your car breaks down on the side of the road.

Once I was married I assumed I would become “one of them.” My mother-in-law and father-in-law both live in a trailer park,my husband’s favorite color is camo, and I now live at a campground waiting to save up for us to live in another camper for the formative years of our marriage.  If I’m being honest, I was nervous for myself. I didn’t want to lose who I was, become a part of this “scary” clan forever, and become a stereotype.

But I think the best thing about being a redneck is that it’s about your personality and how others see you, not what you do.

Rednecks are proud to be rednecks. I’m pretty sure they came up with the name themselves. They know they’re oddballs and don’t fit into the box our world tries to put everyone in, and they love that! They could care less what anyone has to say about their facial hair, cowboy boots, or camo hats. I like being a part of a society that doesn’t care. If anything my conversion into redneck-ism has been eye-opening. I’ve realized that it’s easier for me to do things that make me happy. That I don’t need to know what my future holds because God holds my future in His hands. I don’t need to worry about wearing that dress because it makes me look fat, it makes me feel pretty and that’s all that matters.

What keeps us all sane is our mindset in this world and I think the redneck population has it all figured out: Don’t give a shit.

Leave a Reply

