– [Voiceover]

I’m determined not to work today.

So, I’ve been looking to expand my horizons when it comes to making some extra money. I found a website that does out-sourced captioning for online videos a few weeks ago, and  I got the email yesterday that my account had finally been activated.

It’s a really great gig, and I’ll be making loads more if I keep doing two videos a day.

You might think two videos a day is low-balling it, but yesterday I did my first two and it took me 5 hours to finish them both. Yeah, it’s not as simple as you might think.

Next time you watch a TV show, put the Closed Captions on. That’s what I do now (on top of surveys and website reviews). I make sure all speakers are identified, all atmospherics are explained, and I make sure the words match up to where people are saying them, all the while editing lightly for grammar, adding punctuation, and trying to make sure I know what everyone is saying.

Apparently it’s a pretty tough program to get into, they mentioned several times that less than 10% of all applicants are approved to become a rookie.

It’s been pretty neat, but it’s such a time sucker.

Today I’m hanging out with one of my oldest friends (meaning, she’s from high school, she’s not old). I’m really excited because today is the day she plays D&D with her group and she wants me to join!

I’ve always wanted to play, my mom told me it was “dangerous” when I was younger so I always thought it was the work of the devil or something. But now that I’m older and have a fairly tight grasp on reality, I think I can handle pretending to be a tree nymph or a water troll without losing my mind.

So, I’m determined not to work today. Although I do have a few hours until she comes to pick me up, I might squeeze in a 1 minute video if I can find one…

 

Leave a Reply

