Driving Myself Crazy

Ugh! I was doing so well!! I had at least one post every day, then a stupid weekend flies by and I don’t post for two days!

Not like I have a fan base that waits with bated breath for my posts, but I definitely disappointed myself.

Okay, pity party over.

Usually, I’ll write my post for the day, then go to sleep thinking of what to write about the next day with a quippy title that will make you want to read.

I haven’t really had any amazing ideas lately, so I’ve been procrastinating. Like today, instead of doing my surveys, testing my websites, or being a productive member of society, I watched the “worst of” auditions from the Got Talent shows.

But today,  I think I might confide in you all. I have this thing that I don’t talk about.

I don’t have my license.

Yeah it’s been this thing I’ve never been able to get around to accomplishing. Well, it’s not that I didn’t try, I got my permit at 18, it took me three times to get it. I even got around to scheduling my license test. But the grump they paired me with failed me after I didn’t parallel park in
three reverses.

Am I the only one who thinks that’s a bit ridiculous? You can’t drive on the road if you can’t parallel park within three reverses but you can totally drive if you speed and drive like an asshole any other time outside of your test. Ugh.

So, once I failed my test I thought “meh, maybe I’ll just lay low and renew my permit when it expires then wait till next summer to see what happens.” I had a few crappy summers through my schooling and never had the time or money to go five towns over and get the darn thing at the nearest DMV.

So, my permit expires after a while and I take another few months because I didn’t know I could send it in the mail. Then when I find that out, I send it; and get it back. Not only had my permit expired, but so had my physical. Of course, at this point I don’t have heath insurance. And if I can’t afford health insurance, I can’t afford to spend $45 on a physical at a Patient First.

So now that’s where I’m stuck and have been stuck for about 2 years. Maybe longer. I don’t have my permit and would have to wait a matter of weeks to get my license. Even when I do get my license, I don’t have a job so I can’t get a car. Once I was married, that became one of our priorities. I can’t use public transportation because of my social anxiety and I can’t get a car until I have a job, but I can’t get a job without a car because Eric works first shift and leaves at 3AM.

So this is an incredibly frustrating thing that has kept me from existing like a normal person and I can’t believe that it’s all come to this.

And for all those questions you have that I’ve heard a million times:

*No, I couldn’t do it while I was at school because I WAS AT SCHOOL

*No, I couldn’t just have gone to a Patient First once we had the money because I have other things I need to spend money on. Would you rather throw $45 around for someone to make a few check marks on a piece of paper or buy food for yourself?

*No, I can’t do it now because I have the time, I don’t have health insurance…again.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for sharing! Hope it all works out for you very soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your welcome, thanks so much for reading. I hope it works out too.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sure it all will.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. J Slade says:

    You’re doing amazing, keep going!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the support 🙂

      Like

  3. It’s all inter connected

    Like

Leave a Reply

