Story Time

I’m sure the majority of people reading this have experienced at least one first date in their life. If you haven’t…just you wait, my friend.

My first date was certainly one for the books. This happens to be one of my favorite stories to tell people, though I really have no idea why it is.

Let’s start with the way Eric asked me. Now, I’ve mentioned before that he’s not really a words guy. So, we’re chatting on Facebook one evening after school and he suddenly says “can I ask you a hypothetical question?” I say “yeah sure.” He says “what would you do if I asked you out on a date?” I said something along the lines of “I would jump up and down with joy and probably say yes, but why worry about it if we’re speaking hypothetically?” He says “because I want to ask you out.”

He was pretty smooth back in the day (though I can’t blame him. My nerves came the day of the actual date. His probably started the week or so before he asked me).

So, he asked if I liked to go bowling. I said that of course I do, who doesn’t like to go bowling? Actually, I think the way it worked is he asked me what I wanted to do and I said I liked bowling. I have no clue. We went bowling.

As this hypothetical-ness is happening on the screen in front of me, I can’t contain my joy. Not only is the hot bad-boy asking little old me out on a date, but this is my first ever date and it’s with a guy I’ve pretty much been obsessed with since he walked into homeroom.

Yeah I was the creepy stalk-you-from-the-corner kind of girl in high school. I remember telling you I was home schooled. I didn’t learn how to “boy” until high school where, for some reason, the love of my life looked past my creepy Facebook stalking and asked me out; and then proceeded to marry me. Life is so weird.

Okay! I’m getting to it! Anyway, I asked my mom if I could go out with the guy and she, later telling me she didn’t think it would go anywhere, said yes. I mentioned that I was really nervous so she asked me if I wanted her to come with me. I said “no, mom, gosh. I’ll be fine.” I later redacted that statement because I over think things and I didn’t know Eric well enough to know he wouldn’t try to steal me and sell me on the black market. So…my mom came on my first date with me.

But that’s not even the best part.

Events somehow unfurled themselves into my brother and one of his friends being invited. It became this twisted group date after a while. Me, Eric my mother, my brother, and my brother’s friend who also happened to be our neighbor were all in attendance by the time we arrived at the alley. I remember walking in and being so relived that he’d actually shown up. He knew everyone was coming, but he stayed calm like he’d done this before. Because that definitely isn’t true, I was surprised at how calm he was.

My mom offered to bowl a few lanes away from us, but in my panicked head, and attempting to be cool, I said something like “it’s whatever, just bowl in the lane next to us.”

It’s not like my mom was taking pictures the whole time or cheering for me when I got a strike. I didn’t even notice her after a while. I was so busy walking like a stick figure up to bowl every time wondering if Eric was checking out my ass or judging my awful bowling skills. We smack-talked at some points, but overall I was crazy nervous. What made it worse was that Eric was cool as a cucumber. He wore his hat backwards, he relaxed in his seat, and he smiled at me a whole bunch. He was basically making me go more weak in the knees than I already was for being on my first first date.

He bought me some pizza for lunch and we hugged goodbye at the end of the night. It was really awesome of him to deal with my family. Little did he know he’d be dealing with them for forever.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ah! This is beautiful! I love the way you write. Definitely staying for more.

    Like

    1. Yay!! Thanks so much for taking the time to read 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Not a problem! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

