I Love You, Tomorrow…

Today has been crazy. I don’t really feel like writing about it, but I’m going to anyway.

I was spooked awake this morning by a phone call (that’s what I get for making Fall Out Boy my ringtone) from the woman who was going to show us the apartment tomorrow. “Sorry, someone put down a deposit on the apartment on Friday. They were a great candidate, so we went with them.”

I mean, I can’t really be mad at her, right? She’s just trying to find the best person to live in her apartment, right? It’s not her fault that I’m homeless and seeing that apartment was going to be the highlight of my week…right?

That apartment did, however, manage to do one thing. It gave Eric and I hope that we might find another for somewhere close to our price range. Now, I’m not going to fool myself into thinking another apartment for $550 a month will suddenly drop out of the sky and be a perfect match, but that doesn’t mean I can’t go looking for another one.

That’s what I’ve spent my day doing so far. I found about 10 different places. 2 of which Eric and I are going to tour this week. So, yeah. Hope is pretty cool even when it wakes you up at 9:30AM.

As if this morning’s news wasn’t bad enough, I got a text from my dad today. I can’t really even believe it happened.

My father using a handheld device to do more than make a phone call is basically a miracle. In the 23 years I’ve been alive, this, today, was the first text I’ve ever received from him. I would say it’s like an old person trying to figure out a cell phone, but seriously, that’s exactly what this is. He’s 61 years old. He is the old person trying to figure out a cell phone.

Anyway,  I appreciate the fact that he’s finally using the fancy iPhone he has to stay in touch with the daughter who hates phone calls, but I can’t help but feel that he was trying to make me feel guilty for not calling yesterday.

So yeah, today was stupid so far, and I really hate adulting. Maybe tomorrow won’t suck so much.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sorry to hear about the apartment, good luck with your hunt, hopefully it won’t be too much longer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! We have a few places were looking into this week, fingers crossed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

